International Prizes

International Meany-Kirkland Human Rights Award, 2011

Prize awarded annually by theAmerican Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations(AFL-CIO) in recognition of dedication to and effectiveness in highlighting the widespread denial of fundamental human rights at work and in society.

Find out more

Norwegian Arthur Svensson Prize, 2014

Prize awarded by the trade union foundation of the same name of that Scandinavian country, which awards outstanding fighters in the world for their actions in defense of workers' human rights being the equivalent of what would be the Nobel Prize for those who contribute remarkably with and for humanity.

Find out more

Harold Edelstam Prize, 2012

Prize awarded by a Swedish foundation to those who have made an outstanding contribution to the struggle and movement for human rights anywhere in the world, for which I was proudly nominated. This foundation became famous for its defence of Norwegians and Jews persecuted by the Nazis during the Second World War, and for its support for the opponents of Augusto Pinochet, dictator of Chile from 1973.

Find out more

‘Sentiments of the Nation’ Medal, 2014

Recognition granted annually by the People’s Assembly of the Peoples of Guerrero (APPG), also for those who make an outstanding contribution to the struggle for the human rights of Mexicans.

Emilio Krieger Medal, 2014

Awarded by the National Association of Democratic Lawyers in Mexico City for defending workers’ human rights.